

# "IT'S ALL ABOUT OUR CITIES"

Thursday, October 13, 2022 Hilton Miami Downtown

## MDCLC 10th Annual Best Practices Conference: Thursday, October 13, 2022

8:00 A.M.-10:00 A.M. 9:00 A.M.-10:15 A.M. **Registration & Continental Breakfast in Exhibition Hall** 

### Concerto Ballroom A

Building a Better Transportation System Together

### Moderator:

Grace Perdomo

### Panel Members:

Vice-Chairman Oliver G. Gilbert, III Mayor Joseph Corradino Eulois Cleckley Aileen Bouclé

Sponsored by: CITT

### Concerto Ballroom B

Collaborating to Combat Climate Change and Save Biscayne Bay

### Moderator:

James Murley

### Panel Members:

Councilwoman Crystal Wagar Irela Bagué Steve Williamson Joel Serface Rachel Silverstein

Sponsored by: FPL

### Concerto Ballroom C

Humanizing The Badge: Community Policing, Communication, and Enforcement

### **Moderator:**

Mayor Omarr C. Nickerson

### **Panel Members:**

Mayor Esteban Bovo, Jr.
Mayor Rodney Harris
Mayor Anthony F. DeFillipo
Police Chief Alejandro "Alex" Mendez
Police Officer Felix Del Rosario

Sponsored by:

C.A.P Government, Inc. BusinessFlare

10:15 A.M.-10:45 A.M. 10:45 A.M.-12:00 NOON

### Concerto Ballroom A

**Tackling the Housing Affordability Crisis** 

### Moderator:

Mayor Daniella Levine Cava

### **Panel Members:**

Commissioner Eileen Higgins Vice Mayor Marvin Wilmoth Jorge Damian de la Paz Enrique Teran

Sponsored by: Crown Castle

### Visit Exhibit Hall- Morning Break

### Concerto Ballroom B

Succeeding in Municipal Government: The Calm after The Storm

### Moderator:

Mayor Omarr C. Nickerson

### Panel Members:

Mayor Juan Carlos "JC" Bermudez Mayor Karyn Cunningham Vice-Chairman Oliver G. Gilbert, III Councilwoman Crystal Wagar Mayor Shlomo Danzinger Manager Christia E. Alou, Esq.

Sponsored by: Granicus

### 12:15 P.M.-2:00 P.M.

• Welcoming remarks MDCLC President Juan Carlos "JC" Bermudez, Mayor, City of Doral

- Opening Remarks Miami-Dade County Mayor Daniella Levine Cava
- Luncheon Fireside Chat with Mayor Francis Suarez, City of Miami



# Executive Board 2022-2023

President Hon. Juan Carlos "JC" Bermudez Mayor, City of Doral

First Vice President Hon. Rodney Harris Mayor, City of Miami Gardens Second Vice President Hon. Anthony DeFillipo, Mayor, City of North Miami Beach

Secretary
Hon. Crystal Wagar
Councilwoman,
Village of Miami Shores

Treasurer
Hon. Karyn Cunningham,
Mayor,
Village of Palmetto Bay

Immediate Past President Hon. Joseph Corradino Mayor, Village of Pinecrest

### **Board of Directors**

Hon. Rachel S. Friedland Vice Mayor, City of Aventura

Hon. Seth E. Salver Vice Mayor, Bal Harbour Village

Hon. Robert Yaffe Councilman, Town of Bay Harbor Islands

Hon. Judi Hamelburg Commissioner, Village of Biscayne Park

Hon. Vince Lago Mayor, City of Coral Gables

Hon. Tim Meerbott Mayor, Town of Cutler Bay

Hon. Claudia Mariaca Councilwoman, City of Doral

Hon. Omarr Nickerson Mayor, Village of El Portal

Hon. Walter P. Thompson Vice Mayor, City of Florida City

Hon. Jaime Mendal Vice Mayor, Town of Golden Beach

Hon. Bryan Calvo Councilman, City of Hialeah

Hon. Yioset De La Cruz Mayor,

City of Hialeah Gardens Hon. Steve Losner

Mayor, City of Homestead Hon. Bernard Klepach Mayor, Village of Indian Creek

Hon. Michael W. Davey Mayor, Village of Key Biscayne

Hon. Roberto Martell Mayor, Town of Medley

Hon. Alex Diaz de la Portilla Commissioner, City of Miami

Hon. Oliver G. Gilbert, III Vice Chairman, Miami-Dade County

Hon. Dr. Dorothy Bendross-Mindingall Board Member, Miami-Dade County School Board

Hon. Alex Fernandez Commissioner, City of Miami Beach

Hon. Reggie Leon Vice Mayor, City of Miami Gardens

Hon. Joshua Dieguez Councilman, Town of Miami Lakes

Hon. Sandra Harris Mayor, Village of Miami Shores

Hon. Walter Fajet Vice Mayor, City of Miami Springs Hon. Marvin Wilmoth

Vice Mayor, North Bay Village Hon. Mary Estime-Irvin Councilwoman, City of North Miami

Hon. Fortuna Smukler Commissioner, City of North Miami Beach

Hon. Chris Davis Commissioner, City of Opa-Locka

Hon. Leanne Tellam Vice Mayor, Village of Palmetto Bay

Hon. Anna Hochkammer Councilwoman, Village of Pinecrest

Hon. Luis Gil Commissioner, City of South Miami

Hon. Alex Lama Commissioner, City of Sunny Isles Beach

Hon. Shlomo Danzinger Mayor, Town of Surfside

Hon. Orlando Lopez Mayor, City of Sweetwater

Hon. Richard Block Councilman, Village of Virginia Gardens

Hon. Eric Diaz-Padron Mayor, City of West Miami