

"IT'S ALL ABOUT OUR CITIES"

Monday, December 16[™], 2024 Biltmore Hotel

MDCLC 12th Annual Best Practices Conference Monday, December 16, 2024

STONEMAN DOUGLAS ROOM

Shaping Florida's Future

8:00 A.M.	Registration/Exhibition Hall opens (Bowman Room)
9:00 A.M.	Breakfast in Country Club Ballroom
10:00 A.M 11:00 A.M.	Opening Session with Keynote Speaker Ken Griffin

11:30 A.M. - 12:45 P.M. Morning Sessions

MERRICK ROOM

Heat, Floods and Storms: Regional Collaboration for Preparedness and Response

Moderator Mayor Daniella Levine Cava

Panel Members: Mayor Alix Desulme Dr. Jose L. Dotres Rebecca Fishman Lipsey Dr. Jesse Spearo

Sponsored by: Dade County Federal Credit Union

Dade County Federal Credit Ur

Moderator James R. Haj

Workforce

Panel Members: Alfred Sanchez Madeleine Thakur Evelio Torres Rodrick Miller

Sponsored by: Florida International University

TUTTLE ROOM

Achieving Your Goals...and... Celebrating Your Birthday!!!

Session Speaker Mayor Omarr C. Nickerson, Ph.D.

Sponsored by: C.A.P Government, Inc

1:00 P.M. - 2:00 P.M.

Grab a Bite - Country Club Ballroom

2:15 P.M. - 3:30 P.M.

Afternoon Sessions

MERRICK ROOM

Florida's Cyber Future: Insights and Expectations from New State Leadership

Moderator Miguel Asencio

Panel Members: Candace Wynn James "Jim" Aldrich Lawrence Embil

Sponsored by: Business Flare Town of Golden Beach

4:00 P.M. - 5:30 P.M.

STONEMAN DOUGLAS ROOM

Session on Constitutional Officers

Moderator Senator Rene Garcia

Panel Members: Juan Fernandez-Barquin Alina Garcia Dariel Fernandez Tomas Regalado Rosie Cordero-Stutz

Sponsored by: Lien Library



Reception – Danielson Gallery

MDCLC 2024-2025 Executive Board

President Hon. Karyn Cunningham Mayor, Village of Palmetto Bay

First Vice President

Hon. Omarr C. Nickerson, Ph.D. Mayor, Village of El Portal Second Vice President

Hon. Fortuna Smukler Commissioner, City of North Miami Beach

Secretary Hon. Joseph Corradino Mayor, Village of Pinecrest

Treasurer

Hon. Walter Thompson Commissioner, City of Florida City

Immediate Past President Hon. Rodney Harris Mayor, City of Miami Gardens

Board of Directors

Hon. Rachel S. Friedland Commissioner, City of Aventura

Hon. Seth E. Salver Vice Mayor, Bal Harbour Village

Hon. Robert Yaffe Councilman, Town of Bay Harbor Islands

Hon. Jonathan E. Groth, Esq. Mayor, Village of Biscayne Park

Hon. Vince Lago Mayor, City of Coral Gables

Hon. Tim Meerbott Mayor, Town of Cutler Bay

Hon. Christi Fraga Mayor, City of Doral

T.B.A Village of El Portal

Hon. Sharon Butler Vice Mayor, City of Florida City

Hon. Bernard Einstein Vice Mayor, Town of Golden Beach

Hon. Esteban Bovo, Jr. Mayor, City of Hialeah

Hon. Yioset De La Cruz Mayor, City of Hialeah Gardens

Hon. Steven Losner Mayor, City of Homestead

Hon. Bernard Klepach Mayor, Village of Indian Creek

Hon. Jose I. Rasco Mayor, Village of Key Biscayne

T.B.A Town of Medley

Hon. Miguel Angel Gabela Commissioner, City of Miami

Hon. Oliver G. Gilbert, III Commissioner, Miami-Dade County

Hon. Maria Teresa Rojas Chair, Miami-Dade County School Board Hon. Tanya K. Bhatt Commissioner, City of Miami Beach

Hon. Robert Stephens Councilman, City of Miami Gardens

Hon. Ray Garcia Councilman, Town of Miami Lakes

Hon. George Burch Mayor, Village of Miami Shores

Hon. Jorge Santin Councilman, City of Miami Springs

Hon. Rachel Streitfeld Mayor, North Bay Village

Hon. Pierre Frantz Charles Councilman, City of North Miami

Hon. Jay Chernoff Commissioner, City of North Miami Beach

Hon. John H. Taylor, Jr. Mayor, City of Opa-Locka

Hon. Steve Cody Councilman, Village of Palmetto Bay

Hon. Shannon Del Prado Vice Mayor, Village of Pinecrest

Hon. Javier Fernandez Mayor, City of South Miami

Hon. Fabiola Stuyvesant Commissioner, City of Sunny Isles Beach

Hon. Tina Paul Vice Mayor, Town of Surfside

Hon. Jose "Pepe" Diaz Mayor, City of Sweetwater

Hon. Richard Block Councilman, Village of Virginia Gardens

Hon. Eric Diaz-Padron Mayor, City of West Miami

Richard Kuper, Esq. MDCLC Executive Director (305) 416-4155